Chorn Sokun's Weblog

Conquer inner fear, push it to the limit!

2 Years? 3 years?! I don’t know …

leave a comment »

Recently I was requested by an old friend (as known as my loyal client) which I helped him a few years back to fill in a task that his core developer could not do to help him again.

Back in history I used to work for him as a consultant. I suppose to his staff solve their problems using relevant technology and techniques. However at that time the developer was unable to catch up with the trend. So he asked me to transform myself into an developer and implementing the missing pieces. That was kind of interesting project so I agreed to take it.

By the way I mean to say bad about the my friend staff. The developer worked for my friend at that time he did his job very well. He completed 90% of the work that their client wanted “Restaurant Management Application” via “RAD” VB6 + SQL Server 2000 :) oh and he wrote a few wrapping method for data & UI creation call which is nice. However at the very last week the client came and asked them to implement additional feature which was used by his competitor restaurant and yeah they want to allow their staff to record customer ordering through a Pocket PC devices.

Since then the project gone live and everyone are happy with it. So what the heck I am saying all of these? Because now it more than just me filling the missing pieces. This time he has no longer employee any developer.  He approached me this time with the full source code that his old developer staff did (VB6 + SQL SERVER 2000) and asked me to upgrade this software for his new client, well of cause with additional feature request.

As much as I tried to escape from VB6 it always come back to me time and time again. I think I have no longer willing to forget it but to live with it. And if I count recent CMS customization work that I did with my newphew and man that was Joomla! CMS hacking for smoth integration of various extensions for at less 4 different clients ( and you should know they shall each has their unique requirements).

Within two weeks I got that much to do, It really a greate experience to trick my brain from confusing the system especially ending a VB6 code with semi colon :)) and big big and I mean BIG thanks to the Joomla! CMS community without their excellent work done I should have been slept well in my grave.

Written by Chorn Sokun

June 26, 2008 at 11:10 pm

Posted in Development, OSS, Programming

Tagged with , ,

Leave a Reply

